Press Release 2012, Airport services

LONDON, England- March 1st, 2012


LONDON, England - March 1st, 2012 - Star Alliance, the world's longest serving airline alliance, has welcomed the development of the new Terminal 2 at Heathrow which will become its new home at the airport when the terminal opens in 2014.

UK Secretary of State for Transport, the Rt Hon Justine Greening joined industry guests at BAA's 'topping out' ceremony on February 29th, 2012, to mark the end of major structural work.

Lee Hock Lye, Vice President Products & Services, Star Alliance said: "The Star Alliance member carriers are looking forward to moving into our new home here at Terminal 2, Heathrow. Being located under one roof will enable our airlines to deliver seamless alliance travel to our passengers, further enhancing the current airport customer experience."

The Terminal 2 programme comprises four elements: the new terminal, a satellite pier, a new multi-storey car park and the redevelopment of the associated road system. The design of the terminal provides a modern, technologically progressive and environmentally friendly space for travellers and employees alike.

"The redevelopment of Terminal 2 will reinforce Heathrow's position as one of the leading global aviation hubs. From our new home at Heathrow, Star Alliance will be able to compete on an equal footing in the alliance arena, something we have been waiting for ever since the opening of Terminal 5," added Hock Lye.

Star Alliance has more daily flights and serves more destinations than any other. The Alliance's 27 airlines operate over 4,000 aircraft, offering more than 21,000 daily flights to 1,290 destinations and carrying over 600 million passengers a year. At Heathrow, the alliance has 25 airlines offering 185 flights per day serving 73 destinations in 38 countries.

Note to Editors:
Pictures showing Star Alliance member carrier employees and VP Products and Services Lee Hock Lye can be downloaded here.

About Star Alliance:
The Star Alliance network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer worldwide reach, recognition and seamless service to the international traveller. Its acceptance by the market has been recognised by numerous awards, including the Air Transport World Market Leadership Award and Best Airline Alliance by both Business Traveller Magazine and Skytrax. The member airlines are: Adria Airways, Aegean Airlines, Air Canada, Air China, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, Blue1, British Midland International, Brussels Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, Ethiopian Airlines, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, Spanair, SWISS, TAM Airlines, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI, United and US Airways. Avianca-TACA, Copa Airlines and Shenzhen Airlines have been announced as future members. Overall, the Star Alliance network offers more than 21,000 daily flights to 1,290 airports in 189 countries.

  • Adria Airways
  • Aegean Airlines
  • Air Canada
  • Air China
  • Air New Zealand
  • ANA
  • Asiana Airlines
  • Austrian
  • avianca
  • Brussels Airlines
  • copa Airlines
  • Croatia Airlines
  • Ethiopian Airlines
  • EVA Air
  • LOT Polish Airlines
  • Lufthansa
  • Scandinavian Airlines
  • Shenzhen Airlines
  • Singapore Airlines
  • South African Airways
  • TAP Portugal
  • THAI
  • Turkish Airlines
  • United